Award Recipients

Selcuk Uluagac

2023 Real Triumphs Faculty Award Recipient

Selcuk Uluagac

Electrical & Computer Engineering, College of Engineering & Computing

Past winners

  • 2022: Dr. José A. Faria, College of Engineering & Computing

    Moss Endowed Chair, College of Engineering & Computing

    Dr. Faria has a B.S. Industrial Engineering from Universidad Católica Andrés Bello, in Caracas Venezuela, a M.S. in Systems Engineering and a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from the University of Maryland, College Park. He has worked at FIU for the Moss School of Construction, Infrastructure, and Sustainability since 2006, and has three years of prior adjunct/lecturer appointments at the American University, Washington D.C., and the University of Maryland, College Park. Prior to his academic work, he worked in the beverage industry for ten years, where he developed and installed several bottling systems both in the US and internationally. This industry experience has opened many possibilities in the Central and South America region.

    He has publications related to integer optimization applied to land development, mathematical decomposition and hybrid techniques to solve mixed integer programming problems, decision analysis applied to capital allocation, and probabilistic optimization models. His current research is in applications of RFID technologies to the transportation and construction industries, quality in construction and lean construction. He has taught courses at both undergraduate and graduate levels, and is currently the Moss Endowed Chair of the Moss Department of Construction Management. He has also served as the Program Director of a Susan Harwood Training Grant.

  • 2021: Charles Jalloh, College of Law

    Professor Charles Jalloh

    Professor of Law, College of Law

    Dr. Charles C. Jalloh is a Professor of International and Criminal Law, founding editor of the African Journal of Legal Studies and the African Journal of International Criminal Justice, and a prestigious Member of the International Law Commission. Professor Jalloh has practiced law at both the domestic and international levels and appeared as external counsel to the African Union Commission. A recipient of several research awards, including the FIU Top Scholar Award, and the FIU Senate Faculty Award for Excellence in Research and Creative Activities, Professor Jalloh was the Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Public International Law at Lund University in Sweden for the 2018-2019 academic year. His education includes law degrees from McGill and Oxford Universities, as well as a Ph.D. in International Law from the University of Amsterdam. His most recent book is The Legal Legacy of the Special Court for Sierra Leone.


  • 2021: Jorge Valdes, Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences

    Dr. Jorge Valdes

    Clinical Associate Professor; Interim Chair, Nurse Anesthesia Department, Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Public Health 

    As a native of Miami, Dr. Valdes is immersed in the cultural issues in South Florida. He actively advocates for diversity and inclusion in education and Nurse Anesthesiology practice. He is a champion within nurse anesthesia programs for the recruitment, mentorship, and success of minority students in decreasing health disparities and inequalities amongst these demographics. Since his appointment at FIU in January 2017, Dr. Valdes has had a continuous engagement in research, publications, presentations and has chaired over 30 Doctor in Nursing Practice projects. Dr. Valdes is a prolific speaker, co-author of book chapters on diversity, and author of numerous publications. Dr. Valdes strongly believes in increasing minority representation in healthcare can reduce health disparities and inequalities. In 2014, he appeared before the Florida House of Representatives’ Healthcare Innovation Subcommittee in Tallahassee as an expert clinician in healthcare issues. Dr. Valdes’ influential testimony served as a catalyst to passing Florida’s first autonomous Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Practice Bill.



  • Other winners
    • 2019:William Pelham Jr., College of Arts, Sciences & Education
    • 2018: Lester Standiford, College of Arts, Sciences & Education
    • 2017: Allan Rosenbaum, Steven J. Green School of International and Public Affairs
    • 2016: Erik Camayd- Freixas, Steven J. Green School of International and Public Affairs
    • 2015: Stavros V. Georgakopoulos, College of Engineering and Computing and Aileen Marty Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
    • 2014: Patrick "Chip" Cassidy, Chaplin School of Hospitality and Tourism Management
    • 2013: Judith Stiehm, College of Arts and Sciences
    • 2012: Arindam Chowdhury, College of Engineering and Computing
    • 2011: Kalai Mathee, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
    • 2010: Arvind Agarwal, College of Engineering and Computing
    • 2009: W. Kinzy Jones, College of Engineering and Computing
    • 2008: Darden Pyron, College of Arts & Sciences
    • 2007: Krishnan Dandapani, College of Business
    • 2006: Nancy Wellman, Robert Stempel College of Public Health and Social Work
    • 2005: Kenneth Furton, College of Arts & Sciences
    • 2004: Christos Koulamas, College of Business
    • 2003: Mira Wilkins, College of Arts & Sciences
    • 2002: Arun Prakash, College of Business
    • 2001: Naphtali Rishe, College of Arts & Sciences